City Council

The City of Banning was incorporated in 1913 as a general law city with a Council-Manager form of government. The City has 5 elected council members, one of which is appointed mayor by the Council every year. The City Manager is the Chief Administrative Officer and is appointed by the City Council. The 4 year elected term of a Council member’s office is staggered, with 3 members elected during 1 election cycle and 2 at another. Elections are consolidated with the General Election in November of even-numbered years. The City Council of the City of Banning adopted a five Council District plan on June 7th, 2016.